Come join us for the next meeting of our Tween Book Club! Grab a friend, swing by Inkwood for the book, and join us. There is no charge to attend, and no registration required. We ask only that you purchase the book at Inkwood to participate. Lively discussion, activities, and snacks provided by Inkwood.

This Month: New Kid by Jerry Craft

About the book: The perfect graphic novel to read during the start of a new school year! Great for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

New Kid is a 2019 Harvey Awards nominee for best children’s book of the year!

Event date: 
Friday, September 27, 2019 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
31 Kings Hwy East
Haddonfield, NJ 08033
New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - February 5th, 2019

Sign up for the Inkwood Newsletter